Day One — Fast

After watching Eat, Fast, and Live Longer I have decided to try intermittent fasting. Today is my very first day.

There are several ways to go about this, including the 5:2 diet and alternate day fasting. For anyone unaware, in both diets you have “feed” days and “fast days.” On feed days you can eat whatever you want, while on fast days you limit yourself to 400-600 calories (depending on your gender/size). In alternate day fasting the pattern is simple: 1 feed day 1 fast day. In the 5:2 diet, you fast 2 days out of the week.

I’m going to try both? I’d like to do alternate day fasting, but it’s (obviously) not as flexible. With the 5:2 diet, as long as the two days are not consecutive you can move them around in the week to accommodate whatever is going on in your life. A little bit of math shows that with an alternating fast diet, your ratio, on a weekly basis, is going to be either 4:3 or 3:4 (because 7 is an odd number). So even a 4:3 week is one extra day.

I’m going to basically do an alternating day fast, occasionally modifying it so that, for example, I can attend Easter dinner next week without having to sit at a restaurant and eat nothing, and even worse than that, answer a battery of questions from my family about why I’m not eating anything. But I’ll never have a week that doesn’t have at least the 2 fast days required by the 5:2, and more often than not the 3 or 4 that come with alternate day.

I am a 33 year-old male. I have an electronic bathroom scale which is hopefully a little more accurate than a regular one. I stopped eating last night at 6:30 pm. I weighed myself this morning at 9:30 am. I weighed 186.6 lbs, which is actually a little better than I had anticipated. I thought for sure I’d be over 190.

I’m only 5’4″ so that is pretty damn fat anyway.

Even worse, my body is almost 40% fat. I don’t remember the exact figure–it was in the high 30s–because I immediately had to look away, like from a grisly crime scene. At any rate, that’s way, way, way too high.

I’m basically sedentary, so I’m also going to try and go on a short walk every day, 30 minutes to an hour. I’d also like to do a little bit of weight lifting once a week on a feed day, but I am terrified of the gym, and I don’t know how well this type of calorie restriction mixes with real exercise. I’m going to go through this week, and on the weekend, I might try going to the gym–but no promises.

here’s a link to the documentary on vimeo: http://vimeo.com/54089463

Leave a Reply

